CYPRESS COUNTY

BYLAW 2020/13

A Bylaw to impose penalties on unpaid taxes within Cypress County.

Whereas Section 344 of the Municipal Government Acts being Chapter M-26 of the Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, states a Council may by bylaw impose penalties in the year in which a tax is imposed if the tax remains unpaid after the date shown on the tax notice:

NOW THEREFORE pursuant to the provisions of the Municipal Government Act and amendments thereto, the Council of Cypress County in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, hereby ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

- 1. This Bylaw may be cited as the "Amending Tax Penalties Bylaw".
- 2. This Bylaw applies to all taxes imposed by Cypress County for the 2020 year and is an amendment to Bylaw 2020/02 passed on February 4th of 2020.
- 3. If any taxes remain unpaid in the <u>current year</u> after June 30th, of the year in which the taxes are imposed, penalties shall be deferred on the unpaid taxes in the current year to:

Dates Imposed	Rates Imposed
December 1 th	7.5%

4. If any taxes remain unpaid from other years, penalties shall be imposed on the unpaid taxes in any year.

Date Imposed	Rates Imposed
December 1 th	7.5%

- 5. This Bylaw does not affect any penalties previously assessed in 2020
- 6. The penalty as authorized in Sections 3 and 4 above, shall form part of the unpaid taxes.
- 7. Bylaw 2020/10 is thereby repealed.
- 8. Bylaw 2020/13 expires as at December 31^{st} , 2020.

Read a first time this 5th day of May, 2020.

Read a second time this 5th day of May, 2020.

Read a third time and finally passed this 5th day of May, 2020.

Reeve