Cypress County is a municipal government with a nine-member council and a staff of 50.

The council determines the bylaws, policies and services that they believe will best serve the area.  Funding comes primarily from property taxes with all property assessed on a five year cycle.  The annual budget sets out the plan for providing the services for area residents and businesses, including capital expenditures, which are heavily dependent on grants from the Provincial government.

In the interest of open and accountable government, County Council uses this website as an important tool for sharing information.  Meeting agendas, minutes, bylaws, policies, etc, can be viewed in the Document Library.