Cypress County is a municipal government with an elected nine-member council and a staff of 56.

The council determines the bylaws, policies and services that they believe will best serve the area. Funding comes primarily from property taxes with all property assessed on a five year cycle. The annual budget sets out the plan for providing the services for area residents and businesses, including capital expenditures, which are heavily dependent on grants from the provincial government.

Staff implement the policies of council and duties are divided up.

In the interest of open and accountable government, county council uses this website as an important tool for sharing information. Meeting agendas and minutes can be viewed in the Minutes & Agendas page. Bylaws, policies, etc., can be viewed in the Documents page.

For minutes and agendas prior to 2019, see the Minutes Archive page.